History of Indian Railways in Orissa (a lot of it borrowed from the SER web pages and rest compiled by Chitta Baral, chitta@gmail.com)

1887	The Bengal Nagpur Railway was formed.
6 th Oct 1890	The East Coast Railway was inaugurated.
1893 to 1896	800 miles of East Coast Railway line was built and opened for traffic.
1893 to 1896	East Coast Railway built some of the largest bridges viz. Brahmani,
1095 10 1090	Mahanadi, Katjuri, Kuakhai and Birupa during the period.
1 st Feb 1897	
	Khurda Road-Puri (27 miles) section was opened for traffic.
1898-99	Kharagpur-Cuttack was opened for traffic.
1 st Jan 1899	BNR's Line to Cuttack was opened.
March 1901	The construction of a bridge on River Mahanadi near Cuttack was completed.
1911	A 40 mile branch line from Tatanagar to Gurumahisarani where
	plenty of iron ores are available was opened for traffic.
1922	BNR Hotel at Puri was established
1922	Tatanagar-Gurumahisani line was extended upto Badampahar.
Feb 1925	Extension to Gua was completed.
1929-31	Parlakmedi-Gunupur section was opened in two portions in 1929 and 1931.
1 st Oct 1944	The management of Bengal Nagpur Railway was taken by
	Government of India.
1955	B N R Emerged as South Eastern Railway.
1960	The Dandakaranya-Bolangir-Kiriburu Railway Project. [Kottavalasa-
	Koraput-Jeypore-Kirandul Construction (Dandakaranya Project),
	Titlagarh-Bolangir-Jharsuguda Project and Rourkela-Kiriburu
	Project; all these 3 projects put together were popularly known as
	DBK Project - Dandakaranya-Bolangir-Kiriburu Project.]
31 st Jan 1962	Foundation stone of Cuttack-Paradip line was laid by the then Prime
	Minister, Late Jawarlal Nehru.
April 1963	Sambalpur-Titlagarh line was opened for traffic.
1968	Cuttack-Paradip line was inaugurated.
9 th July 1973	Cuttack-Paradip line was opened for traffic.
28 Feb 1977	Jhakpura-Daitari line was opened for traffic.
Dec 1995	164 kms long Koraput-Raygada line was finished.
Aug 1998	174 kms long Talcher-Sambalpur line was opened.
18 th Nov 2000	Banspani-Jaroli (10.44 Km) was opened for traffic.
4 th July 2002	Govt of India gave a gazette notification about East Coast Railway
+ July 2002	(ECOR) being carved from the South eastern railway. ECOR is to
	consist of the Sambalpur, Khurda Rd and Visakhapatnam divisions.
1 st April 2003	East coast railway (ECOR) was operationalized.
Sept 2005	Gauge converson of 52 kms long Rupsa-Baripada was finished.
2005	
	Kharagapur-Visakhapatnam electrification finished.
2006-07	155 kms long Daitari-Bansapani is scheduled to be finished.

History of introduction and extension of major trains via Orissa since 1996 (compiled by Chitta Baral, chitta@gmail.com)

1996	15 new trains, 10 frequency increases and 13 extensions
Late 1996	Hazrat Nizamuddin-Sambalpur Hirakud Express from tri-weekly
	to four days a week.
Late 1996	Puri-Ahmedabad Express from weekly to tri-weekly.
Late 1996	Howrah-Cochin Express upto Trivandrum once a week.
Late 1996	Howrah-Secunderabad Falaknuma Express from tri-weekly to
	daily.
Late 1996	Puri-Ahmedabad Express from weekly to tri-weekly.
1997	12 new trains, 5 frequency increases and 14 extensions
Late 1997	8005/8006 Howrah-Rayagada Express to Kazipet
Late 1997	6311/6312 Bangalore-Howrah Weekly Express to Guwahati
Late 1997	6315/6316 Cochin-Howrah weekly Express to Trivandrum
Late 1997	Koraput-Rayagada Link Express to Bhubaneshwar
1998	20 new trains, 11 frequency increases, 7 extensions, 4 EMUs, 5
	DMUs
Late 1998	Talcher-Sambalpur Passenger
Late 1998	Bhubaneswar-Rourkela Express via Sambalpur
Late 1998	8403/8404 Puri-Ahmedabad Express from 3 days to 4 days a
	week
Late 1998	Tiruchchirappalli-Howrah Express (tri-weekly)
1999	Nitish Kumar presented the Railway budget as the RM.
	14 new trains, 4 frequency increases, 5 extensions, 4 MEMU and
	4 DMUs.
2000	Mamata Banerjee presented the Railway budget as the RM. 13
	new trains, 4 frequency increases, 11 extensions, 6 MEMUs and
	3 DMUs.
Late 2000	Patna-Rourkela Link express to Rourkela
2001	Mamata Banerjee presented the Railway budget as the RM. 25
	new trains, 9 frequency increases, 12 extensions, 6 MEMU/EMU,
1	and 4 DMUs.
Late 2001	Kharagpur-Jaleshwar-Bhubaneshwar DMU
Late 2001	Howrah-Trivandrum-Nagercoil Weekly express.
Late 2001	Kacheguda-Palasa Visakha Express to Bhubaneshwar.
Late 2001	Bhubaneshwar-Palasa Intercity Service
Late 2001	Kurla-Bhubaneshwar (Via Sambalpur) Weekly Express.
Late 2001	Howrah-Yashwantpur (Bangalore) Bi-weekly Express.
2002	Nitish Kumar presented the Railway budget as the RM. 41 new
	trains, 14 frequency increases, 16 extensions, 3 MEMU/EMU,
1 / 2002	and 7 passenger trains.
Late 2002	8441/8442 Bhubaneswar-Palasa to Srikakulum

Late 2002	2421/2422 New Delhi-BBSR Rajdhani from bi-weekly to tri- weekly and routed via Adra-Kharagpur instead of Howrah.
Late 2002	Berhempur-Bhubaneswar
Late 2002	Bhubanweswar-Howrah JanShatabdi
2003	Nitish Kumar presented the Railway budget as the RM. 50 new
2003	trains, 13 frequency increases, 24 extensions, & 11
	MEMU/EMU.
Late 2003	Ranchi-Mumbai (Lokmanya Tilak Terminus) via Rourkela &
Late 2003	Nagpur (Weekly)
Late 2003	2443/2444 Bhubaneshwar-New Delhi Rajdhani Express from 1
Lute 2005	day to 2 days.
Late 2003	Bhubaneshwar-Bangalore (Yeshwantpur) via Visakhapatnam
Lute 2005	(Weekly)
Late 2003	Ranchi (Hatia) –Bangalore (Yeshwantpur) via Jharsuguda &
	Visakhapatnam (Weekly)
Late 2003	Puri - Guwahati via Asansol (Weekly)
Late 2003	Sambalpur-Raipur via Titlagarh (Daily)
2004	Nitish Kumar had an interim budget as the RM in January and
	then in July Lalu Prasad presented the Railway budget as the RM.
	33 new trains (including 18 Sampark Krantis proposed by Nitish
	Kumar), 12 frequency increases and 9 extensions.
Late 2004	8303/8304 Sambalpur-Bhubaneswar Express upto Puri.
Late 2004	411/8412 Bhubaneswar-Srikakulam Express upto
	Vishakhapatnam.
Late 2004	Orissa Sampark Kranti Express from New Delhi to
	Bhubaneshwar
2005	Lalu Prasad presented the Railway budget as the RM. 46 new
	trains, 10 frequency increases and 27 extensions.
Late 2005	8477/8478 Kalinga-Utkal express extended to Haridwar.
Late 2005	Rupsa-Bangiriposi DMU introduced
Late 2005	Bhubaneswar-Sambalpur express
Late 2005	2659/2660 Chennai – Visakhapatnam Express extended to
	Bhubaneswar
Late 2005	8407/8408 Nizamuddin-Bhubaneswar Hirakud Express to
	Visakhapatnam
Late 2005	2983/2984 Jaipur-Bilaspur Express to Puri
Late 2005	8003/8004 Howrah-Yesvantpur Express from bi-weekly to daily
	with diversion via Tirupati.
2006	Lalu Prasad presented the Railway budget as the RM. 55 new
	trains, 12 frequency increases, and 37 extensions.
Late 2006 (planned)	Bhubaneswar-Baripada Express(tri-weekly)
Late 2006 (planned)	Howrah-Puri Express(bi-weekly)
Late 2006 (planned)	Bhubaneswar-Pondicherry Express(weekly)
Late 2006 (planned)	Tatanagar-Yesvantpur Express via Rourkela-Sambalpur-
	Rayagada(weekly)

Late 2006 (planned)	Howrah-Mumbai Express (weekly)?via Rourkela?
Late 2006 (planned)	7227/7228 Vasco-Vijayawada Express (4 days a week) to
	Howrah
Late 2006 (planned)	8507/8508 Visakhapatnam-Nizamuddin Hirakud Express to
	Amritsar
Late 2006 (planned)	8305/8306 Raipur-Sambalpur Express to Bhubaneswar
Late 2006 (planned)	8467/8468 Puri-Jaipur Express to Jodhpur
Late 2006 (planned)	8563/8564 Bangalore-Visakhapatnam Prashanti Express to
	Bhubaneswar
Late 2006 (planned)	211/212 Puri-Sambalpur Passenger to Rourkela
Late 2006 (planned)	5625/5626 Bangalore-Guwahati Express from bi-weekly to tri-
	weekly